Oman Investor Visa: Requirements, Costs and Residence


Oman has a dedicated Investor Visa route for eligible foreign investors, with five-year and ten-year options shown on the current government service. Company registration alone does not guarantee the visa: the investment must satisfy the applicable requirements and the applicant must obtain the required certification from the competent authority.
For a shareholder deciding how to structure residence in Oman, that distinction is important. Investor residence, Golden Residency, business travel and property-based residence are separate routes and should not be treated as interchangeable.
The Investor Visa is an immigration route for foreign nationals whose investment qualifies under Oman’s applicable rules. The official Investor Visa service states that the visa is issued on the basis of a certificate from the competent authority and that the investment requirements must be satisfied through the relevant investment process.
This is particularly important for company owners. Holding shares or being listed on a Commercial Registration does not, by itself, appear in the current government service as an automatic entitlement to investor residence. The investment structure and supporting certification have to be assessed first.
For the wider investment framework, Connsect’s Oman investment page provides the broader context. The present article is limited to the residence route.
The route is intended for foreign investors who meet the applicable investment requirements and want residence connected to that investment. The current service requires the applicant to be at least 21 years old.
A shareholder should therefore avoid treating ownership percentage or company status as the only eligibility test. The relevant investment must qualify and the required competent-authority certificate must support the visa application.
The practical sequence starts with investment eligibility and certification, then moves to the visa application and residence card. The main steps are straightforward.
The current government service shows a shorter document list than older Royal Oman Police guidance. For a current application, the present Gov.om service should be the primary operational reference rather than automatically applying every requirement found on an older page.
Older Royal Oman Police material also mentions partnership certification, Commercial Registration documents, specimen signatures, Chamber of Commerce documentation and medical examination in certain cases. Because that material is older and conflicts with the current service on fees and document presentation, those items should be verified for the specific application rather than treated as a universal current checklist.
The current government service lists OMR 250 for a five-year Investor Visa and OMR 500 for a ten-year Investor Visa. Older regulatory material shows OMR 300 for five years, so the amount displayed through the current application channel should be checked before payment.
| Service | Validity | Published fee | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investor Visa | 5 years | OMR 250 | Current Gov.om figure; older regulatory material shows OMR 300. |
| Investor Visa | 10 years | OMR 500 | Current Gov.om figure. |
| Investor Joining Visa | 5 years | OMR 50 | Separate service for eligible family members. |
| Investor Joining Visa | 10 years | OMR 100 | Separate service for eligible family members. |
| Residence card | Depends on card validity | OMR 11 on current service | Separate from the visa fee. |
Gov.om currently displays a service time of 10 minutes for the Investor Visa service. This should not be read as a guaranteed end-to-end immigration timeline because investment verification, certification and residence formalities may be separate stages.
Eligible family members can use a separate Investor Joining Visa route. The official joining visa service lists documents including the applicant’s passport, the investor’s passport, a personal photograph, proof of relationship and a copy of the investor’s residence.
The published fee is OMR 50 for five years and OMR 100 for ten years. These charges are separate from the principal investor’s visa fee.
Golden Residency is a separate long-term programme rather than another name for the standard Investor Visa. It provides ten-year residence for qualifying investors and entrepreneurs under its own eligibility routes.
| Point | Investor Visa | Golden Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Basis | Investment certification from the competent authority | Separate long-term residency programme |
| Published validity | 5 or 10 years | 10 years |
| Published minimum investment | No universal amount stated on the public Investor Visa service | OMR 200,000 announced for the programme |
| Qualifying routes | Subject to investment requirements and certification | Includes company investment, property, securities, deposits and employment creation under programme conditions |
The Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion has published the Golden Residency announcement with a ten-year duration and an OMR 200,000 minimum investment for that programme. That amount should not be presented as a universal Investor Visa threshold.
An Investor Visa is tied to qualifying investment and residence, while a business visa is a separate route for commercial activity. Similar business-related purposes do not make the two visas interchangeable.
If the purpose is temporary commercial activity, the business-visa route should be assessed. If the objective is residence based on an eligible investment, the Investor Visa requirements and competent-authority certification should be checked instead.
The current government service does not state that every company owner or shareholder automatically qualifies. Investment eligibility and the required competent-authority certificate remain central to the application.
The OMR 200,000 threshold is published for Golden Residency. The public Investor Visa service does not state the same amount as a universal minimum, so the two programmes should be assessed separately.
Older Royal Oman Police material displays different fee information, while the current government service lists OMR 250 for five years and OMR 500 for ten years. The current application channel should be checked before payment.
The ten-minute figure belongs to the government service display and is not a guaranteed completion time for every investment and residence stage. Certification and eligibility checks may occur before the visa application itself.
Confirm the investment structure, competent-authority certification and residence route before paying the visa fee. If you want an initial assessment of the appropriate route, submit your details through the Connsect assessment form.
A limited-time offer to register your company in Oman at the lowest cost — from consultation to trade license and bank account, on one clear, hassle-free path.
Free case evaluation
Tell us what you need in three short steps. One of our advisors reviews your case and comes back with an assessment, a cost estimate and a timeline.
The current public Investor Visa service does not publish a universal minimum investment amount. OMR 200,000 is the announced minimum for the separate Golden Residency programme. It should not be transferred automatically to every Investor Visa application.
Comments & experiences
Share a useful experience or ask a relevant question.